top of page

The Aquabats to Return with 6th Studio Album on 8/21

Punk rock’s superheroes, The Aquabats!, return with a brand new single and lyric video for “Karate Body!”. Along with a full music video set to premiere August 7. The track comes off their new highly-anticipated album Kooky Spooky... in Stereo!, The Aquabats’ 6th studio album, the first since 2011’s High Five Soup!. This energetic, eclectic album is prime Aquabats with all of the variety, quirk and fist-pumping rock you can handle! The album is set to release digitally and physically August 21, via Gloopy Records and is available for pre-order today [].

"Karate Body!" is the third and final single from The Aquabats' soon-to-be-released album Kooky Spooky... in Stereo! This Devo-esque summer jam mashes the aesthetics of a 70s martial arts movie with the upbeat flair and lyrical humor that are undeniable signatures of the world's greatest superhero rock band. With an anthemic chorus and vivid characters, "Karate Body!" is guaranteed to go down as an Aquabats classic, and a favorite of both old and new fans alike.

Kooky Spooky… in Stereo! was made possible in 2018 by a record-breaking crowdfunding campaign. “The Legion of Righteous Comrades” (5,500+ Aquabats fans) pledged over $600,000 on Kickstarter and over $300,000 on other platforms for The Aquabats! to produce two new full-length studio albums and 13 web episodes of their cult classic kids’ TV show, The Aquabats! Super Show!

Presently, Saturday morning favorite, The Aquabats! Super Show! now lives on YouTube. The Aquabats! have been releasing new episodes of their live-action, comedy-adventure TV show for free! You can now see full-length classic episodes and brand new adventures on The Aquabats’ YouTube channel with guest stars from Jon Heder (Napoleon Dynamite) to Weird Al Yankovic! 

The Aquabats!, formed in 1994 in Orange County as a way to have some harmless fun in a music scene that took itself too seriously. Their Paul Frank designed “power belts,” trademark rash guards, black eye masks, “anti-negativity” helmets and onstage antics quickly caught on, earning the group a fiercely loyal following that spans generations. Their line-up and music is continuously evolving, including Blink 182’s Travis Barker as former drummer "Baron Von Tito." 

In 2012, the band debuted The Aquabats! Super Show!, a live-action musical action comedy television series which aired on the Hub Network. The show received eight multiple Daytime EMMY nominations and one win. 

To date, The Aquabats’ music library includes The Return of the Aquabats (1996), The Fury of the Aquabats! (1997), The Aquabats vs. The Floating Eye of Death (1999), Myths, Legends and Other Amazing Adventures, Vol. 2 (2000), Yo! Check Out This Ride! (EP, 2004) Charge!! (2005), Radio Down! (EP, 2010), Hi-Five Soup! (2011), and 2020’s newest addition - full studio album Kooky Spooky... In Stereo! Current members are Christian Jacobs as “The MC Bat Commander” (lead singer), Chad Larson as “Crash McLarson” (bass, vocals), Ian Fowles as “Eaglebones Falconhawk” (guitar), Richard Falomir as “Ricky Fitness” (drums), and James Briggs, as "Jimmy the Robot” (keyboards, woodwinds, vocals). 

bottom of page