top of page

DMA's Release Video 'Learning Alive' from forthcoming album 'Glow'

DMA’S have released a new video for the track LEARNING ALIVE, taken from their forthcoming third album THE GLOW, due for release on 10 July. The video follows DMA’S behind the scenes during a recent UK tour, and was shot by Rik Sanders and edited by McLean Stephenson. The Lennon-esque intro to LEARNING ALIVE soon turns itself into something unexpected, pulling on the emotions and scaling up the drama with a stirring string section for this poignant and heartfelt melancholic ballad.

THE GLOW was produced and mixed by Grammy award winning producer STUART PRICE [Madonna, The Killers, New Order] in the historic Westlake Recording Studios, a long way from the band’s early days in Sydney. From their emotive heart to their towering hooks, the core traits that have earned DMA’S a huge following are still prominent in their new album, but their anthemic sound is now infused with a euphoric flood of alt-pop flair with pulsating synths and taut beats, while the huge choruses will prove be electrifying highlights of future live shows.

The new album is a mission statement that the trio immediately encapsulate within the opening two tracks. A swaggering mash-up of Screamadelica-era attitude, big beat dynamics and modern alt-pop flair, NEVER BEFORE instantly sets the tone. The title track then keeps the energy firing, a rapid rush of melodic energy, joyous optimism and a new-found confidence in Tommy O’Dell’s vocals. As suggested by SILVER, the first single from the album, DMA’S are expanding the scale of their sound, with CRIMINALS introducing the biggest contrast on the record, its punchy, groove-focused hook taking flight from its restrained verses.

And yet DMA’S save the biggest surprise for last with COBRACAINE being a celebration of everything the band can be. It’s a maximalist melting pot of sounds: an escalating wall of guitars the foundation for a tense, almost trance-like beat with vocals filtered through harmonies and vocoders. And as the record hurtles to its mesmerising conclusion, one thing is certain: this is the most fully realised of the band’s three albums to date.

THE GLOW will be available to purchase on CD, download and heavyweight black vinyl as well as limited edition heavyweight tricolour vinyl through HMV and independent record stores. There will also be exclusive merchandise bundles with signed prints plus limited-edition heavyweight transparent green vinyl and cassette when purchased through the band’s store at:


  • Never Before

  • The Glow

  • Silver

  • Life Is a Game of Changing

  • Criminals

  • Strangers

  • Learning Alive

  • Hello Girlfriend

  • Appointment

  • Round & Around

  • Cobracaine

DMA’S UK and Irish tour in May was postponed due to COVID-19 but they plan to return this autumn to play a number of October shows, including their biggest headline London show to date at Alexandra Palace on 23 October. Tickets are on sale now.


Wed 14 SOUTHAMPTON O2 Guildhall


Sat 17 HULL Bonus Arena

Sun 18 NEWCASTLE Hit the North Festival

Fri 23 LONDON Alexandra Palace

Sun 25 DUBLIN Academy

Mon 26 DUBLIN Academy

bottom of page